Category: Sports

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is considering the national team’s support in a tri-country series in New Zealand including the hosts and Bangladesh in front of October’s ICC T20 World Cup, which is set to be played in Australia.

The PCB has been officially contacted by New Zealand Cricket (NZC) for the series, which is probably going to be planned for the first week of October with the World Cup to begin around mid-month.

Pakistan Invited By New Zealand For Tri-series

“The NZC has invited the PCB for a tri-series in New Zealand in the lead up to the T20 World Cup,” the PCB spokesperson told Dawn.

“We are presently reviewing the invite and will revert to the NZC following a consultation process.”

While Bangladesh, who likewise accepted NZC’s greeting, have affirmed their cooperation in the series, Pakistan’s pressed timetable in September has held the PCB back from making a choice immediately.

Pakistan will take part in the T20 Asia Cup from September 1-17 preceding facilitating England for a seven-match T20 series, of which the dates are still in question.

The games being organized outside the pre-concluded Future Tours Program is another component that is under PCB’s thought. Be that as it may, sources said the ultimate choice will be made by the Saqlain Mushtaq-drove Pakistan team management remembering the players’ workload.

Pakistan’s Relations With New Zealand Not At Best Terms In Recent Times

Pakistan’s cricketing relations with New Zealand dealt a blow when the latter singularly cut short their visit to the country hours before the first match referring to security concerns.

Read Full Article

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has informed the prospective broadcasters that its preferred timing to start IPL matches from next year is 8 pm.

The BCCI has also said it would try not to have too many double headers but its choice for the start of an afternoon game is 4 pm. At present, the evening matches start at 7.30 pm and the afternoon games at 3.30 pm.

“BCCI’s preferred start times for double-headers being 4 pm and 8 pm Indian Standard Time,” the BCCI said in a communique to the interested parties who want to bid for the television and digital rights of the league for the 2023-27 five-year cycle.

In the first broadcast cycle of 10 years, the IPL matches started at 4 and 8 pm invariably. Only in the second cycle of five years, the starting times were advanced, on the request of Star Sports, the broadcasters, who paid a whopping INR 16,347 crore. The Star’s contention was a 7.30 pm start would have extra 30 minutes in the Prime Time, when the viewership soars and, conversely, the monetisation can be high. It also wanted the afternoon games to start 30 minutes early.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has extended the last date for the purchase of the ITT document by 10 days. “Pursuant to requests from various interested parties, BCCI has now decided to further extend the date for purchasing the ITT documents till May 20, 2022. The procedure for purchasing the ITT documents is laid down in Exhibit I. All other terms contained in the Exhibit I (including the non-refundable ITT fee amount) shall be applicable herein,” the BCCI said in a statement recently.

As reported by this website earlier, Star India, Viacom 18, Sony, Amazon, Zee, Dream 11, Supersports in South Africa and Sky in the UK have bought the ITT document. Also showing interest is Times Internet, part of which is Cricbuzz. There is no guarantee that all those who have bought the ITT will participate in the bidding – it is only an expression of interest.

Read Full Article

Quinton de Kock claimed the third highest score in Indian Premier League history as Brendon McCullum lost his last game as Kolkata Knight Riders coach before taking charge of England.

Lucknow Super Giants posted 210-0 as De Kock hit 140 not out, smashing 10 fours and 10 sixes from 70 balls.

It made De Kock and KL Rahul, who made 68 not out from 51, the first opening pair to bat throughout an IPL innings.

Yet Kolkata fell just short of victory, losing by two runs in the final over.

Only record-holder Chris Gayle and McCullum have bettered the score of South Africa’s De Kock in an IPL innings.

Gayle hit an unbeaten 175 for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013 and McCullum scored 158 not out for KKR in the first IPL match in 2008.

Victory sees Lucknow secure one of the four play-off places while Kolkata miss out as they can finish no higher than sixth.

McCullum was due to join up with England once Kolkata’s tournament is complete, which is now in good time before the first Test against New Zealand on 2 June.

KKR lost both their openers – Venkatesh Iyer and Abhijeet Tomar – inside their first three overs but regrouped as Nitish Rana scored 42 and captain Shreyas Iyer hit 50.

Iyer’s dismissal left Kolkata on 131-4 in the 14th over but power-hitting from Rinku Singh (40 from 15) and Sunil Narine (21 from seven) put them on the brink of an incredible chase.

With two balls left KKR needed three runs to win, with four wickets in hand, but Marcus Stoinis removed Singh and Umesh Yadav with the final two deliveries to clinch victory and finish with figures of 3-23.

Read Full Article